While Texans value their constitutional right to bear arms, state lawmakers have passed several laws restricting access to guns. Charges of unlawful possession of a firearm can lead to serious consequences, including prison time and fines.
The Texas Penal code restricts possession of firearms for certain offenders, including those who have been convicted of a felony offense, and those who have been convicted of domestic violence. If you are in this category, and found to be in possession of a firearm, felony charges will be filed against you.
The Right to Bear Arms in Texas: Restrictions
The only way you can once again regain the right to own a firearm is to have your civil right to bear arms restored. The law states you can once again own under the following rules:
- After a felony conviction, before five years of release from incarceration, mandatory supervision, or supervision under community supervision.
- After conviction for a Class A misdemeanor for domestic violence, the right can be restored before the fifth anniversary of release from jail or prison, or from or community supervision.
Third-Degree Felony Charges for Unlawful Possession of a Firearm
When a person is believed to be in possession of a firearm prior to having the right restored, a third-degree felony charge may be filed. The penalties imposed can include from 2 to 10 years in prison, and up to $10,000 in fines.