Pulled Over For A DUI In Glendale, AZ
Today, the city of Glendale, in the shadow of downtown Phoenix, has a population of more than 200,000 people and is proud of its title as the “Arizona Antique Capital”. It is also proud of its reputation as a safe and healthy place to live. That includes a place where people are encouraged to practice safety on the road and includes little allowance for a DUI charge.
If you are stopped for a DUI in Glendale, AZ, it means you are suspected of having too much to drink. In other words, you are Driving Under the Influence, which means you have a blood alcohol content (BAC) of .08 percent or higher. It is known across the U.S. that if you are driving through Glendale and are stopped for a DUI, Arizona has some of the harshest penalties in the nation. Depending upon the circumstances, you can be charged at different DUI levels of abuse, such as:
- Regular DUI. Your BAC tests .08 percent or higher.
- Extreme DUI. Your BAC tests .15 percent or higher.
- Super Extreme DUI. Your BAC level is .20 percent or higher.
- Aggravated DUI. This is a felony charge that can be charged for different circumstances, such
as any previous DUI convictions, driving with a license that has already been
suspended, and driving under the influence with a child in the car who is younger
than 15 years old.
If you are DUI and someone is seriously injured, you can face a more serious charge of aggravated assault with a deadly weapon. If you are convicted of this charge, you face a minimum term of 5 years in the Department of Corrections.
What Happens When Pulled Over
If you are stopped for suspected DUI in Arizona, the arresting officer will ask you to take a blood, breath, or urine test, which must be given without two hours after you have been stopped. The arresting officer can decide which test you will take. If you refuse to take any test, the officer can take your license and file a report. If that happens, your license can be suspended for a first offense for at least 12 months.
A refusal to take the test does not mean you will not be convicted on the charge even though there is no proof that you had a BAC of .08% or higher. In such cases, it is often argued that you refused to take the test precisely because you knew you had too much to drink and would be so charged. If you are faced with making the decision of submitting to a test such as this, your bet is to immediately request to speak with a DUI attorney in Glendale, AZ.
The State of Arizona is very serious about DUI charges. If you are arrested on a DUI suspicion in Glendale, your first action should be a call to an experienced DUI and aggressive criminal defense attorney.
A DUI in Arizona, or any state, can have serious consequences. Especially if you have had more than one charge, or an injury was involved.
When seeking representation, make sure you speak with a lawyer who knows Arizona laws and knows how the judicial system works. Make that call to the Law Offices of David Michael Cantor. Their team of highly qualified attorneys have extensive experience with DUI cases in the state. They will work hard to find the best possible defense for you and will use it to provide the best possible chance to be acquitted of the charges or have them reduced.
The best advice for anyone who gets behind the wheel in Arizona is “don’t drink and drive.” If you ignore that warning and trouble happens, the second best advice is to call Glendale DUI lawyer, David Michael Cantor. They will be on your side against any DUI charge, and will work to give you the best possible outcome. If you are involved in a DUI charge at any level, make that call today.