I’ve represented many clients who have been charged with prostitution, including prostitutes or the Johns who solicit the prostitute.
In the State of Texas, the first offense for prostitution is a Class B misdemeanor and carries up to 180 days in jail and a $2,000 fine. Law enforcement will often file charges of promoting prostitution when they charge a pimp or madam who allegedly has one or more prostitutes working for them. Promoting prostitution is a state jail felony that carries a sentence of up to two years in state jail and up to a $10,000 fine.
I am handling a couple of cases now in which I represent clients who were accused of being pimps; they are charged with sex trafficking for taking adults and/or minors across state lines for the purpose of prostitution. I’ve also represented a madam in state court; she was charged with promotion of prostitution. There can be a lot of evidence in these types cases, including telephone records, financial records, and statements from the prostitutes who worked for them. So, if you are charged with promoting prostitution or sex trafficking you need an attorney who has experience defending such cases.
Handling Rape Charges
Rape is generally referred to as sexual assault or aggravated sexual assault. Aggravated sexual assault occurs when a weapon is used, or serious injuries are sustained. Sexual assault charges are filed if there is nonconsensual sex without a weapon, or if the sex is consensual, but the victim is under age.
Sexual assault is generally a second-degree felony, punishable from 2 to 20 years in prison, while aggravated sexual assault is usually a first-degree felony, punishable from 5 years to LIFE in prison. Conviction of either sexual assault or aggravated sexual assault requires sex offender registration for life.
For more information on Prostitution Charges in Texas call the Law Office of James Alston for a free initial consultation. Get the information and legal answers you’re seeking by calling (713) 228-1400 today.