Houston DWI Defense Attorney
DWI Defense Lawyer Serving Houston
Driving While Intoxicated (DWI) is one of the most common criminal offenses committed in the State of Texas. The majority of people arrested for a Houston DWI are not criminals; they are professionals in the community. A conviction for Driving While Intoxicated can ruin your career cost you your driving privileges and your freedom. If you are arrested for a DWI, you need to act fast to protect your rights. James Alston is an experienced Houston DWI Defense Attorney who will fight hard to get your charges reduced or even dismissed. Contact James Alston Law today.
Texas Penal Code Section 49.04 makes it unlawful for a person to operate a motor vehicle while intoxicated. Under Texas law, intoxicated is defined as:
- “not having the normal use of mental or physical faculties by reason of the introduction of alcohol, a controlled substance, a drug, a dangerous drug, a combination of two or more of those substances, or any other substance into the body; or
- Having an alcohol concentration of 0.08 or more.”
DWI Penalties In Texas
As indicated by the Texas Department of Transportation (TxDOT), penalties increase depending on the number of DWI convictions a person has, and any potential enhancements.
First Offense DWI Conviction
On a 1st Offense DWI Conviction in Texas, you could face a fine of up to $2,000, up to 180 days in jail, the loss of your driving privileges for up to one (1) year, and an annual fee of up to $2,000 for three (3) years to retain your driver license.
Second Offense DWI Conviction
On a 2nd Offense DWI Conviction, you could face a fine of up to $4,000, up to one (1) year in jail, a license suspension of up to two (2) years, and an annual fee of up to $2,000 for three (3) years to retain your driver license. If you have two or more DWI convictions within five (5) years, the state may require you to install an ignition interlock device on any vehicle that you own or operate.
Third Offense DWI Conviction
If you are convicted of a 3rd offense DWI in Texas, you could face a fine of up to $10,000, two to ten (10) years in prison, loss of your driving privileges for up to two (2) years, and an annual fee of up to $2,000 for three (3) years to retain your driver license.
Texas DWI Enhancements
Several aggravating factors can increase the penalties in your DWI case, including:
- Having a child passenger 15 years old or younger
- Having an open container of alcohol
- Having an alcohol concentration level of 0.15 or more
- Causing great bodily injury or death to another person
- Having a prior conviction
Hire An Experienced Houston DWI Attorney
A conviction for driving while intoxicated can affect your entire life; from your career to your license, family, and freedom, the stakes are too high to try to fight the charges without a leading DWI defense lawyer. Attorney James Alston is board certified in criminal law. He is a former state and federal prosecutor with a passion for providing a strong defense for his clients. He will never turn your case over to a junior associate. Mr. Alston works directly with each of his clients to get the best possible outcome in their case. Contact Houston DWI Defense Attorney James Alston today to schedule a consultation.